Make this your homepage
Tripura News
Home > Tripura News
Two-phase polling in Tripura for two MP seats
TIWN March 10, 2019
Two-phase polling in Tripura for two MP seats
PHOTO : Election Commissioner Sunil Arora addressing media. TIWN Pic March 10

AGARTALA, March 10 (TIWN): Two phase polling will be conducted in Tripura, said Election Commission Chief Sunil Arora. On April 11 and April 18 the election to be conducted in two parts.

Chief Election Commissioner Sunil Arora told the media that 22 states and union territories will see single-phase election.

Karnataka, Manipur, Rajasthan and Tripura will see polling in two phases.

Assam and Chhattisgarh will have three-phase polling.

Jharkhand, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra and Odisha will see four-phase polling and Jammu and Kashmir will have five-phase elections.

Bihar, Uttar Pradesh and West Bengal will see staggered Lok Sabha elections spread over all seven phases starting from April 11 to May 19, it was announced here on Sunday.

The places where elections will take place in a single phase are Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Goa, Gujarat, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Kerala, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Punjab, Sikkim, Telangana, Tamil Nadu, Uttarakhand, Andaman and Nicobar Islands, Daman and Diu, Dadra and Nagar Haveli, Lakshadweep, Chandigarh, Delhi and Puducherry.

The following are the dates for the seven phases:
Phase 1: April 11
Phase 2: April 18
Phase 3: April 23
Phase 4: April 29
Phase 5: May 6
Phase 6: May 12
Phase 7: May 19

Vote counting will be held on May 23.

Add your Comment
Comments (0)

Special Articles

Saumen Sarkar Saumen Sarkar
Anirban Mitra Anirban Mitra