Make this your homepage
Tripura News
Home > Tripura News
Charilam Election result tomorrow
TIWN March 14, 2018
Charilam Election result tomorrow
PHOTO : Securities tightened at Charilam counting centre. TIWN Pic March 14

AGARTALA, March 14 (TIWN): Securities across Charilam constituency have been tightened keeping the counting day ahead. Whereas BJP and Congress representatives will stay in the counting hall, the CPI-M will not remain present as they have already withdrawn the candidate's name at there.

SDM Sumit Choudhury said, in total 12 counting halls the counting will be conducted. The counting will be started from morning 8 am and the training to the officials have been conducted already. Central security forces are also in full action at the Charilam to stop all kinds of untoward incidents. "Strong rooms are under strict observation, led by the central officials", said the SDM. Chief Electoral Officer Sriram Taranikanti said, "80.79 % voting was done at the Charilam constituency''. 

 "80.79 % voting was done at the Charilam constituency. Total 29750 voters have cast their votes at Charilam and the result will be given on March 15. Till now including the postal ballot and Charilam constituency, the voting percentage has gone at 91.5 % across 60 constituencies. Soon, the total will be known", said Taranikanti. 

Tripura BJP candidate of Charilam Jishnu Debbarma's winning is almost confirmed as CPI-M had withdrawn its candidates from there, but CEO said, once the date for withdrawing nomination is gone, nothing can be done.

On the other side, while withdrawing candidate, in a letter to the CEO Sriram Taranikanti, CPI-M wrote, "In our earlier memorandum we had categorically mentioned the names of 11 party offices looted, vandalized or set on fire..........19 leaders were injured physically......The CPI-M candidate of Charilam was bound to stay outside the constituency...thus after a meeting held at 12 PM on March 10 we have decided to withdraw the nomination of the left front sponsored candidate from this election'. However, question raising, can a party withdraw candidate's name after the date is extended ?

BJP State Observer Sunil Deodhar mocking at CPI-M said, this time comrades have given up the Charilam election, but soon they will give up from Kerala and other places.

Jishnu Debbarma (Deputy CM) has taken charges of these departments : 1) Power Dept, 2) Finance Dept, 3) Rural Development Dept. 


Add your Comment
Comments (0)

Special Articles

Saumen Sarkar Saumen Sarkar
Anirban Mitra Anirban Mitra