Make this your homepage
Tripura News
Home > Tripura News
Tripura Legislative Assembly Celebrates Historic Golden Jubilee

Agartala, Sept 18 (TIWN) Lok Sabha Speaker Meera Kumar arrived here today to inaugurate the Golden Jubilee function of Tripura Legislative Assembly.To mark the golden jubilee of the Tripura assembly, an all important seminar was organised on September 18 to highlight the transition of Tripura from princely rule to democratic governance. Lok Sabha Speaker Ms Meira Kumar was the chief guest at the seminar.

“In presence of Lok Sabha Speaker, we would also felicitate 80 preceding legislators, who elected to the state assembly since 1963 along with the incumbent MLAs,” Tripura assembly’s deputy speaker Pabitra Kar told reporters a week earlier.

Mr Kar, chairman of the golden jubilee celebration committee, said that on the occasion, an exhibition with old exhibits would be organised and a rich souvenir would be published. 

A special one-day session of the state assembly to celebrate its golden jubilee was held on July 1.

The Tripura assembly had shifted to a newly built sprawling three-storey assembly building in July 2011 from the 112-year-old royal palace, which would turn into a big museum.

At the end of several hundred years of rule by 184 kings, the princely northeastern state, along with Manipur, merged with the Indian Union in October 1949. It was then designated a union territory headed by a chief commissioner.

On July 1, 1963, the erstwhile Tripura territorial council was converted into the 30-seat Tripura legislative assembly by an act of parliament, with a council of ministers.

Veteran Congress leader Sachindra Lal Singh became the first chief minister of the state, heading a five-member council of ministers.

Under the North Eastern Region (reorganisation) Act, 1971, Tripura, Manipur and Meghalaya became full-fledged states Jan 21, 1972, each having a 60-seat assembly.

Add your Comment
Comments (0)

Special Articles

Saumen Sarkar Saumen Sarkar
Anirban Mitra Anirban Mitra