Make this your homepage
Tripura News
Home > Tripura News
TTAADC Election: Trinamool Congress to contest the election is under deep suspense
TTAADC Election: Trinamool Congress to contest the election is under deep suspense
PHOTO : TTAADC council bhavan, Khumlung. TIWN File Photo

Agartala, March 28 (TIWN): In the upcoming TTAADC Election, will Trinamool Congress be able to announce the name of the candidates to contest? At present this question is prevailing among the minds of the people.

According to the source of Trinamool Congress camp office, it is being informed that due to the postponed of the arrival of the Observer, Subrata Mukherjee, the Party is unable to arrive in final conclusion.

Earlier, it was decided that Trinamool Congress newly appointed observer, Subrata Mukherjee will arrive in Tripura on March 28 to boost the party’s strength and strategy ahead of TTAADC election and ZillaParishad election. However, in the month of February, Mukul Roy was relieved from the charge of observer and heavyweight Minister Subrata Mukherjee has been given the responsibility of state observer. The leaders of the TMC, hoped that this reshuffle will be able concentrate more to regroup the party's organization in Tripura. The long time experience as leader and Minister Subrata Mukherjee's appointment will boost TMC leadership and workers in Tripura in its struggle against CPI (M)

.The elections to the 30-seat (28 elective, two nominated) TTAADC, which facilitates the socio-economic development of the tribal, would be held most probably in the next month. The council, which has jurisdiction over two-thirds of the state`s geographical area, was constituted in 1985 after amending the sixth schedule of the constitution.

Meanwhile the final voter's list of the TTAADC polls was declared ahead of the council elections. Place in the first week of May. A total 758554 voters comprising of 383437 male and 375117 female are going to cast their votes for the 28 seats of the TTAADC. There has been an increase of 19 percent in the number of voters as compared to 2010 voter's list, in which there were 637240 voters.

 Voting Machines are going to be used for the first time during these elections in which there will also be provision for NOTA .Election Commission of India (ECI) has sanctioned 1,450 EVMs for holding elections in 1,071 booths in the tribal areas where ballot papers have been in use since 1982. Tripura ADC is currently under CPM rule with all the 28 seats in the council belonging to it. This time the ruling party is likely to face challenges from tribal­ based Indigenous Peoples' Front of Tripura (IPFT) and BJP. Both the parties have strengthened political base on the hills



Add your Comment
Comments (0)

Special Articles

Saumen Sarkar Saumen Sarkar
Anirban Mitra Anirban Mitra