Make this your homepage
Tripura News
Home > Tripura News
Panchayat Election for ‘formality’ begins in Tripura : BJP all set to win 86% seats ‘uncontested’
TIWN July 27, 2019
Panchayat Election for ‘formality’ begins in Tripura : BJP all set to win 86% seats ‘uncontested’
PHOTO : File Photo

AGARTALA, July 27 (TIWN): Tripura Panchayat Election voting has started from morning 8 am across booths of 14% Panchayat seats. This election is for namesake as BJP is all set to win 86% seats uncontested after opposition party candidates were threatened and forced to give up elections. Tripura Election since one and half year has become trend of ‘forceful winning’ by ruling BJP and oppositions termed each election held under BJP Govt as ‘farce’. Security has been tightened across Tripura booths to hold a peaceful election. There are contests in remaining 14% seats. State Election Commission has called voters to cast their votes fearlessly and the election to be peaceful. Enough security have been deployed before the polling stations.

Vote counting will be held on July 31st. Also training for vote counting has been conducted.

In 591 villages total Panchayat seat numbers are 6111. Out of those seats, 5728 seats have been won by BJP. Panchayat election will be conducted on 27th July and vote counting will be held on 31stJuly.

In 35 Panchayat Samitis seat numbers are 419. BJP has won uncontested 337 seats.

In Jila Parishad in 37 seats BJP is going to win uncontested out of 116 seats.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in Tripura has won 82 per cent of village panchayat seats uncontested as the opposition Communist Party of India-Marxist (CPM), Indian National Congress, and Indigenous People's Front of Tripura (IPFT), an NDA ally, could field candidates in just 18 per cent of total seats. In Tripura, panchayat polls are scheduled to be held on tomorrow.

Add your Comment
Comments (0)

Special Articles

Saumen Sarkar Saumen Sarkar
Anirban Mitra Anirban Mitra