Make this your homepage
Tripura News
Home > Tripura News
‘Magisterial probe of Jirania violence by IAS Sandeep Mahatme will be a readymade report from BJP office’ : MP Jiten
TIWN Jan 19, 2019
‘Magisterial probe of Jirania violence by IAS Sandeep Mahatme will be a readymade report from BJP office’ : MP Jiten
PHOTO : Left : MP Jitendra Chaudhury, Right : West DM Sandeep Mahatme. TIWN Photos.

AGARTALA, Jan 19 (TIWN): Demanding Judicial investigation in Jirania's Madhabbari violence led by Police brutal firing, MP Jitendra Chaudhury on Friday said, “Govt gave Magisterial investigation whereas West District Magistrate Sandeep mahatma already shown himself not an IAS but an agent of BJP. His investigation will be nothing but a readymade report from BJP office, indeed a farce. No investigation will be done properly and so we want Judicial investigation of Jirania violence”. Sandeep Mahatme was also the same person who cancelled RNI number of Daily-Desher-Katha newspaper in Tripura in total illegal manner, later exposed by High Court. Jitendra Chaudhury said, “People of Tripura as well as us (CPI-M) have no trust on such kind of investigation. Already the West District DM Mahatme through various activities have hit the dignity of Indian Administrative Service (IAS), as if he is a servant of BJP. The DM office where national flag waves he (Sandeep Mahatme) has turned it here (Agartala DM Office) into a party office. Thus investigation by him will be a farce. No culprit will be arrested, neither police’s illegal activity will also come out”.

Addressing media at Melarmath Party Office on Friday evening, MP Jitendra Chadhury said, “Already through reports we have come to know about the Jirania violence related deeper issues. We have visited the violence undertaken place, but Gana Mukti Parishad felt the seriousness of the condition and made another visit covering Jirania, Dasarampara, NIT zone and talked to the local people at there. It’s clear that the administration could avoid the overall situation. On that day already vehicles were less and shops were closed and the blockade was going on at Madhabbari Temuni road but the situation changed by BJP miscreants and a section of police officials”.

“We talked to the agitators and few of them said that at first from the administration we were requested to withdraw the agitation from the road. Administration also informed if they don’t withdraw the blockade then Section 144 will be imposed and all will be arrested. The agitators in return told the authority that they have no problems to be arrested as their protest was successful and the strike was too successful”, Chaudhury said.

“On that time a huge number of BJP goons arrived there with party flags and also carried “Da” with them. But unfortunately from police side nothing was done to push them back or to prevent both parties to come face to face so that no untoward incident can happen”, the MP said.

“The agitators then left the spot and went towards Dasarambari. After sometime, it was seen that the shops are burning, looted. All were done by the BJP. The all shops were totally destroyed”, said Jiten Choudhury.

“Seeing this, the shop-keepers and locals rushed to the spot. On that time police started firing and total 6 persons were injured in that firing. Among them Sumit Debbarma was injured critically. It’s extremely unfortunate. We talked to Sumit’s family members and his sister Sirika told us that Sumit was not an agitators of NESO. During the violence he went to see the happenings as the situation was created near his home. On that time, targeting him, police shot him. They also alleged, not only police but local BJP also joined with police in the attack”, he said.

Jitendra Chaudhury further condemned police led attack on ambulance.

“It’s extremely unfortunate, barbaric that the ambulance was not allowed to pass and they returned and last CRPF guided the ambulance to reach hospital. It’s a heavy violation of human rights”, Chaudhury said.

Add your Comment
Comments (0)

Special Articles

Saumen Sarkar Saumen Sarkar
Anirban Mitra Anirban Mitra