Make this your homepage
India News
Home > India News
Four AIMIM MLAs join RJD in Bihar
Four AIMIM MLAs join RJD in Bihar

Patna, June 30 (TIWN) Four out of the AIMIM's five MLAs in Bihar left the party to join the Rashtriya Janata Dal on Wednesday.

The four MLAs who joined the RJD are Md Shahnawaz Alam (Jokihat), Md Anzar Nayeemi (Bahadurpur), Md Izhar Asfi (Kochadhaman) and Syed Ruknuddin Ahmad (Baisi). Now, only one MLA Akhtarul Iman (Amour), who is the leader of the AIMIM in Bihar assembly, has remained with Owaisi’s party in Bihar. #Bihar: RJD leader Tejashwi Prasad Yadav offers sweet to four MLAs of Asaduddin Owaisi’s #AIMIM after they joined…  — TOI Patna (@TOIPatna) 1656497223000 With this, the RJD- now with 80 MLAs -- has emerged as the largest party in Bihar Vidhan Sabha, followed by BJP (77 MLAs). Earlier in the day, the four AIMIM MLAs, accompanied by the leader of opposition Tejashwi Prasad Yadav, submitted a letter to the Bihar Vidhan Sabha speaker Vijay Kumar Sinha and requested him for the merger of their group with RJD. After the merger, all four MLAs led by Tejashwi reached the 10, Circular Road, the residence of RJD leader Rabri Devi, where Tejashwi formally made a formal announcement about the joining of four AIMIM MLAs in the RJD. The AIMIM, for the first time, won five seats in 2020 assembly polls in Bihar’s Seemanchal region, comprising the Muslim dominated districts of Kishanganj, Araria and Purnia district. The party won two seats each in Kishanganj and Purnia while one in Araria.

Add your Comment
Comments (0)

Special Articles

Saumen Sarkar Saumen Sarkar
Anirban Mitra Anirban Mitra