Make this your homepage
India News
Home > India News
BJP releases names of 157 candidates for Bengal Assembly polls
BJP releases names of 157 candidates for Bengal Assembly polls

New Delhi, March 18 (TIWN) The BJP on Thursday announced 157 candidates for the West Bengal Assembly polls. The list includes names of former Union minister Mukul Roy, Lok Sabha member Jagannath Sarkar, former state unit chief Rahul Sinha, footballer Kalyan Choubey and folk singer Ashim Sarkar.

The party is facing protests and resignations as many of its aspiring old-timers did not find their names in the list of candidates. Roy' son Subranghshu, a sitting TMC MLA, state BJP Mahila Morcha president Agnimitra Paul, film personalities Rudranil Ghosh, Srabanti Chattopadhyay and Parno Mitra were among those given tickets by the saffron party. BJP, which has emerged as the main opposition in the state, has also fielded sports personalities and a scientist for the high stakes battle in the state. Despite protests over recruits getting more importance than old-timers in the candidates list, the party gave nominations to 20 turncoats, including several former TMC MLAs like Arindam Bhattacharya who has been fielded in Jagatdal and Jitendra Tiwari in Pandaveswar.

Add your Comment
Comments (0)

Special Articles

Saumen Sarkar Saumen Sarkar
Anirban Mitra Anirban Mitra