Make this your homepage
India News
Home > India News
Congress forms panels for Assam assembly polls
Congress forms panels for Assam assembly polls

New Jan 26 (TIWN) The Congress has formed a number of committees for the upcoming assembly polls in Assam. The committees formed by the party include the election committee, manifesto committee, management committee, coordination committee, campaign committee and media committee.

Former MP Ram Prasad Sarma will head the election management committee and Abdul Khaleque will be in-charge of Media.  Mahila Congress President Sushmita Deb has been appointed chairperson of the outreach committee.  The opposition Congress had on January 19 announced a five-party ‘Mahagathbandhan’ to take on the ruling BJP-led coalition in Assam in the upcoming Assembly elections expected to be held in mid-April.  Recently, the party high command had appointed three central leaders — Bhupesh Baghel (Chhattisgarh Chief Minister), Mukul Wasnik (AICC General Secretary) and Shakeel Ahmed Khan (Bihar MLA) — to oversee the election campaign in Assam.

Add your Comment
Comments (0)

Special Articles

Sanjay Majumder Sanjay Majumder
Anirban Mitra Anirban Mitra