Make this your homepage
India News
Home > India News
EC announces bypolls 17 states, Puducherry on Oct 21
EC announces bypolls 17 states, Puducherry on Oct 21

New Delhi, Sep 21 (TIWN) Bypolls to 64 Assembly seats in 17 states and one Union Territory will be held on October 21 and the results will be declared on October 24, the Election Commission said on Saturday.

 In Karnataka, where disqualification of 17 rebel MLAs led to collapse of HD Kumaraswamy government in July, bypolls will be held in 15 seats, he added. In Assam, where the citizens' list was published last month, by-elections will be held in four assembly constituencies.

The poll panel announced the schedule for Assembly bye-elections to 15 seats in Karnataka, 11 seats in Uttar Pradesh, five seats each in Kerala and Bihar, four seats each in Gujarat, Assam and Punjab, three seats in Sikkim, two seats each in Himachal Pradesh, Tamil Nadu and Rajasthan and one seat each in Arunachal Pradesh, Telangana, Madhya Pradesh, Meghalaya, Odisha and Puducherry.  The EC said the notification for the bye-elections will be released on September 23.  The last date for filing nominations is September 30, it said, adding that the scrutiny of the nomination papers will be done by October 1.

Add your Comment
Comments (0)

Special Articles

Saumen Sarkar Saumen Sarkar
Anirban Mitra Anirban Mitra