Make this your homepage
India News
Home > India News
Modi, ministers sworn in at a grand ceremony
Modi, ministers sworn in at a grand ceremony

New Delhi, May 30 (TIWN): Narendra Modi has been sworn in as the Prime Minister of India Thursday after a landslide victory in the 2019 Lok Sabha election.

With the cream-and-red sandstone dome of the Rashtrapati Bhavan in a backdrop, President Ram Nath Kovind administered the oath of office and secrecy to Narendra Modi and his council of ministers.

Surrounded by more than 5,000 guests and security staffers, Narendra Modi, 68, took the stage dressed in his trademark white kurta-pyjama and read the oath of office in Hindi.

After Modi, BJP president Amit Shah, Rajnath Singh, Nitin Gadkari and former foreign secretary S Jaishankar, a surprise pick, were administered the oath of office.

Apart from Amit Shah, Rajnath Singh, Nitin Gadkari, other top leaders who were sworn-in as Union ministers included D V Sadananda Gowda, Nirmala Sitharaman and Ram Vilas Paswan.

Present at the glittering ceremony, held at the forecourt of the Rashtrapati Bhavan, the same venue as in 2014, were high-profile world and national leaders and personalities.

These included leaders from the BIMSTEC countries, opposition leaders Rahul Gandhi and Sonia Gandhi, chief ministers, corporate honchos and film stars.

Sri Lankan President Maithripala Sirisena and Bhutanese Prime Minister Lotay Tshering attended Prime Minister Narendra Modi's swearing-in ceremony.

Add your Comment
Comments (0)

Special Articles

Saumen Sarkar Saumen Sarkar
Anirban Mitra Anirban Mitra