Make this your homepage
India News
Home > India News
As Narendra Modi Gears For 2nd Term, Here's List of Ministers in His Previous BJP-Led NDA Government
As Narendra Modi Gears For 2nd Term, Here's List of Ministers in His Previous BJP-Led NDA Government

New Delhi, May 27: Bharatiya Janata Party secured a thumping victory in the recently held Lok Sabha Elections 2019, by winning 303 seats alone. With this, BJP's Prime Minister choice remained as constant for the second tenure, as his popularity among the voters didn't decline.

 Considering the point that Narendra Modi is going to swear-in for the second consecutive time as Prime Minister, let's look at the Union Ministers list in the first tenure of PM Narendra Modi government.  Narendra Modi to Take Oath as PM on May 30 at 7pm in Rashtrapati Bhavan With Members of Union Council of Ministers

Prime Minister: The BJP stalwart took office on May 26, 2014, and is incumbent. He will again swear on May 30, 2019.

Also Read | Clouds Do Prevent Radars From Detecting Accurately: Air Marshal Raghunath Nambiar

Ministry Of Home Affairs: This Ministry was lead by none other than former BJP president Rajnath Singh. He is most likely to get the Ministry again.

Ministry of External Affairs: Sushma Swaraj lead this ministry efficiently and is considered the most respected leaders of the country. Along with this ministry, she was also in charge of the Ministry of Overseas Indian Affairs.

Ministry of Finance: This Ministry was handled by senior BJP leader Arun Jaitley. He also took headed the Minister of Corporate Affairs. However, with incessant health issues, these ministries were appointed to Piyush Goyal.

Ministry of Defence: The Ministry saw ups and downs and various ministries under the PM Modi government. First, it was given to Arun Jaitley, then to late Manohar Parrikar. But after Parrikar became Goa CM, the ministry's charge was given to Jaitley again. Finally, it was given to Nirmala Sitharaman.

Ministry of Information and Broadcasting: Similar to Defence Ministry, this ministry too saw various ministers in the last five years. First, it was headed by Prakash Javadekar, and followed by Arun Jaitley, Venkaiah Naidu, Smriti Irani and Rajyavardhan Rathore.

Ministry of Railways: This Ministry was first given to DV Sadananda Gowda and then was under the leadership of Suresh Prabhu and followed by Piyush Goyal.

Add your Comment
Comments (0)

Special Articles

Saumen Sarkar Saumen Sarkar
Anirban Mitra Anirban Mitra