Make this your homepage
Tripura News
Home > Tripura News
Modi Magic didn’t work in Andaman-Nicobar, Congress wins
TIWN May 24, 2019
Modi Magic didn’t work in Andaman-Nicobar, Congress wins
PHOTO : PM Modi paid tribute to Netaji Subash Chandra Bose, renamed Rose island (File)

NEW DELHI / AGARTALA, May 24 (TIWN): Amid PM Modi’s nationalism politics at large scale at Andaman Nicobar BJP has lost in the election and Congress’s Kuldeep Rai Sharma has won the battle.

 Prime Minister Narendra Modi on December 30, 2018 announced new names for three Andaman and Nicobar islands to honour Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose and just like in Bose style Modi attired as Amaz Hind Fouz chief, freedom fighter Netaji Subash Chandra Bose.

1) Ross Island was renamed as Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose Dweep,

2) Neil Island now is called Shaheed Dweep

3) Havelock Island is Swaraj Dweep,   

But amid grand propaganda on nationalism, the people of Andaman and Nicobar have elected Congress to hold the power.

Kuldeep Rai Sharma is an Indian politician. He currently serves as president of the Andaman and Nicobar Pradesh Committee, a regional wing of the Indian National Congress.

Andaman Nicobar Islands is a Lok Sabha / Parliamentary constituency in region of Andaman & Nicobar in South India. This rural general constituency has an estimated Scheduled Caste population of 0% and a Scheduled Tribe population of 7.5%. The estimated literacy level of Andaman Nicobar Islands is 86.27%. In the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, there were a total of eligible electors and the voter turnout was calculated at %. The seat went to the polls on Phase 1 on Thursday, April 11, 2019.

In the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, Shri Bishnu Pada Ray of BJP won in this seat by defeating the INC candidate by a margin of 7,812 votes which was 4.10% of the total votes polled in the constituency. BJP had a vote share of 47.80% in 2014 in the seat. There were a total of 15 contestants in 2014.

In 2019 Kuldeep Rai Sharma of INC has won. 

Add your Comment
Comments (0)

Special Articles

Saumen Sarkar Saumen Sarkar
Anirban Mitra Anirban Mitra